10A × 3CH RGB Controller: Check Channel Load Before You Quote
A controller marked “10A × 3CH” can look like a simple 30A answer. For a buyer, the real questions are whether each colour-channel load fits, whether all channels may run together at that load, and whether the fixture uses ordinary three-channel RGB rather than addressable pixel data.
30-second answer
- Shortlist it for conventional RGB: The LIKELIGHT L-RGB-M listing specifies DC5V–24V, an RF remote and 10A × 3CH output for RGB lighting.
- Size by channel first: List the full-output current on R, G and B separately. Do not treat the marking as proof of one shared 30A output or a 720W system rating.
- Pause before ordering if: You need DMX/network integration, addressable pixel-by-pixel effects, exposed installation, or a confirmed simultaneous total load. Get that interface or rating in writing first.
Will every LED need its own animation?
A three-channel RGB controller varies the red, green and blue channels to mix a colour across the connected load. That is useful when one group should change colour together, such as a display edge or a room feature.
It is not the same as sending a separate data address to each pixel. If the brief calls for a chase that moves point by point, first confirm that the lamps and controller use a compatible addressable control system; an RF remote alone does not establish that.
What does 10A × 3CH actually tell me?
The L-RGB-M product page lists DC5V–24V, RF remote control and output marked 10A × 3CH. The pictured terminals are labelled B, G, R and V on the output side, with V+ and V− for power input.
Treat the three-channel marking as a channel rating to be matched against the RGB wiring plan. The listing does not state a combined simultaneous total-power limit, so do not add three channel figures and present the sum as a guaranteed system capacity.
A channel-by-channel load check
For a DC load, power on a channel can be estimated with P = V × I. The useful buying input is the current at the chosen supply voltage and the intended full-output condition, not the controller label by itself.
If a long cable or several fixture branches are involved, voltage drop and wire heating also matter. A controller current rating does not replace feeder sizing, branch protection or a loaded voltage check at the far end.
RF remote is not a pixel-data protocol
The listing describes an RF remote and effects such as jumping, gradual changes and strobe. That supports local scene selection; it does not identify a wired DMX, DALI, Ethernet or pixel-data input.
If an operator must recall scenes from a building console or synchronize separate zones, put that control requirement into the RFQ. A conventional three-channel RGB unit is a fit only when its documented interface matches the project workflow.
Where can this controller be installed?
The published protection marking is IP20, so the controller should be treated as an indoor, dry-location component. It is not a weatherproof enclosure for an exposed ride, façade or wet service area.
Leave room to reach the terminals and dissipate heat, secure the wiring and keep the power supply and controller accessible for service. For outdoor equipment, specify a suitable protected enclosure as part of the complete installation, not as an assumed feature of this controller.
Worked example: check the three colour loads
Each example channel is below 10A, so the per-channel screen passes. The calculated group load is 288W at full white, but the product page does not publish a simultaneous total limit. Before purchase, ask LIKELIGHT to confirm the controller’s total rating, wiring and supply arrangement for this exact load.
Assume one RGB group draws R = 4A, G = 5A and B = 3A at full white from a DC24V supply. Compare each colour current with the listed 10A × 3CH marking.
Hypothetical DC24V RGB load; these currents are example inputs, not product specifications.
-
Red
Example current
4AConditional channel power
24V × 4A = 96W -
Green
Example current
5AConditional channel power
24V × 5A = 120W -
Blue
Example current
3AConditional channel power
24V × 3A = 72W
Conditional selection table
| Project condition | Buyer decision |
|---|---|
| You need independent animation at each LED point. | Choose a verified addressable system; this listing does not establish pixel-data compatibility. |
| One connected RGB group should change colour together. | Shortlist L-RGB-M if voltage, wiring and all load limits are confirmed. |
| The unit will sit in a dry indoor service space. | IP20 may fit that environment; preserve terminal access and airflow. |
| The controller is exposed to rain, wash-down or condensation. | Do not install it exposed; specify a suitable enclosure and verify the completed assembly. |
| The load is split across long feeders or several branches. | Calculate cable drop and branch protection separately; do not size from 10A alone. |
| A console, network or DMX system must operate it. | Require a documented interface match or select a controller built for that workflow. |
A conditional case: LIKELIGHT L-RGB-M
This model is worth evaluating when the fixture is a conventional three-channel RGB load, the supply is within the listed DC5V–24V range, a local RF remote suits operation and the controller can remain in a dry indoor location.
It is not yet a complete selection from the current listing alone: the combined simultaneous load, remote pairing details and any required wired-control interface should be confirmed against the actual fixture and quote. The product page also lists a two-year warranty; request the written scope and exclusions for the order.
| Item | Published value |
|---|---|
| Model | L-RGB-M |
| Input range | DC5V–24V |
| Output marking | 10A × 3CH (RGB) |
| Remote | RF remote; listed effects include jump, gradual and strobe |
| Protection | IP20 |
| Published warranty | 2 years; confirm terms for the purchase |
Build a comparable RFQ
- 1. Fixture and wiringIdentify the RGB fixture, common terminal arrangement and connector or terminal plan.
- 2. Electrical loadProvide supply voltage and full-output R/G/B current; request the simultaneous total-load limit in writing.
- 3. Control and locationState whether local RF operation is enough, plus dry/wet exposure and available service space.
- 4. Complete quoteAsk the quotation to state exact model, confirmed option matrix, wiring drawing, BOM, sample plan and acceptance points.
- 5. Commercial scopeRequest the complete-system price, spares and lead time; do not assume these from the controller-only listing.
Tell the supplier what the arithmetic represents: the assumed full-white load, not a claimed measured fixture result.
Buyer questions
Does 10A × 3CH mean a guaranteed 30A total?
The marking gives three channel figures, but the page does not state a combined simultaneous limit. Treat total capacity as a written quote-stage check.
Can it run addressable RGB pixels?
The page mentions pixel lights but does not identify an IC, data protocol or addressable wiring mode. Do not assume pixel-by-pixel effects without a confirmed compatibility statement.
Can it be installed outdoors?
The published marking is IP20. Use only in an appropriate dry, protected location unless the complete enclosure and installation are separately verified.
Copy-ready inquiry
We are evaluating the LIKELIGHT L-RGB-M for [fixture/model]. Supply: [DC voltage]. Full-output current: R [ ] A, G [ ] A, B [ ] A. Control required: [local RF / other]. Installation: [location]. Please confirm channel and simultaneous total-load limits, wiring compatibility, sample configuration and complete quotation.